Honey For You, but which type?


I used to have flowering trees, in the front yard of the home where I grew up. Bumble bees  lazily flew in and out of the open flowers, once in a while stopping long enough for me to close the  petals, and hear their buzzing sounds.  It was a ritual that I would carry out, and ultimately got my friends involved in.   The bees would eventually fly away, undeterred by our child’s play, and  amazement.

Now, I think hard to remember when was the last time I saw a bee; and if I did I probably made it a point to capture the moment!  But, this is about what bees produce, something that has been referred to since the beginning of time!  Even the scriptures referred to heaven, as the “land of milk & honey”.   To know how important the golden, thick, sweet liquid that is produced by the “honey bee” is throughout history, we would have to look at trade, traditions, and rituals; however, this is not about either of those.

One brief stroke in a painter’s brush will show a bumble bee, usually in a painterly still life; accordingly, the bumble bee is symbolic of Jesus Christ. Again, we find we find a parallel between the “land of milk and honey”, and the “bumble bee”, at a level of sanctity.  Flower Still Life, Ambrosius Bosschaert the Elder, 1614  So now you probably know, that I did spend lots of time in the library during college, under heaps and piles of Art History books! A slight digress, however I hope you can appreciate my point: The bumble bee, and its honey are very important.

I really want to focus on the types of honey, and if you have ever thought which type you should use, perhaps we can address that here (albeit, I won’t make any promises that you’ll be less confused).

The consistency of honey is only one aspect of this delicious nectar, the other delicious factor is decided by where the honey bee actually got its pollen; that would be a deciding factor in the color.  The most popular type I remember as clover honey; all the shelves in the grocery stores, always seemed to be filled with them.

Here is @LiveStrong info on clover honey: http://www.livestrong.com/article/272053-clover-honey-nutritional-facts/

Granted, there are approximately 300 different types of honey in the US alone!  With such an array of honey, including one that has a song dedicated to it:

The types of honey, will in most probability come in the following consistencies: Liquid Honey, Creamed Honey, Comb Honey, Chunk Honey.  I must admit that the consistency of  honey is pretty self-explanatory, with liquid honey being the preferable choice for most recipes, and drinks.  Comb Honey is great for home-made remedies, or body scrubs.

Use the honey that will affect the flavor of your recipes, or drinks the least!  The honey to use would then be a mildly flavored honey, yes one maybe like clover honey!  However, remember you may choose to also use honey as an ingredient, in which case a flavorful type may do the trick!

I say enjoy what you can, but go for raw organic honey!

One more thing, remember as with all raw products, to always consult your family’s Pediatrician before letting baby partake!

PS- My spell check didn’t recognize the words “bumble bee”!

Special Thanks to HoneyO.Com, and J. Paul Getty Museum

5 comments on “Honey For You, but which type?

  1. I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can’t in finding your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly permit me know so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

    • Hello,
      Thanks very much for stopping by my blog and commenting. Sorry you couldn’t find the email subscription area. It’s the 5th box down on the right hand side,
      that says follow blog by email. I will subscribe you, and you will be updated automatically. I see that you are a restaurant, let me know if you
      have any menu items you would like featured on my blog, along with the recipes! Thanks again and blessings!
      LifeDelicacy

  2. I am hoping that if enough children know how little honey a bee makes in its life at least they won’t waste any!
    The other difference (and I think interesting thing) about bumble bees is that only the mated new queens over winter and their probiscus is longer than a honeybee’s so they can pollenate flowers with pollen tucked into deeper blossoms.
    Thanks for taking the time to respond. Carry on the good work.

  3. You mention ‘The bumble bee, and its honey are very important.’ – I am not sure that we humans ever taste honey from a bumble bee! Honey is collected from the honeybees who live in quite large colonies (about 60,000 in summer). Each honeybee probably only produces about one twelfth of a teaspoon of honey in its life. Some bumble bees are solitary; several cuckoo bumble bees exist (they lay their eggs in other bumble bee nests and then abandon their offspring to the hos mum). There are a few who exist in a colony but the maximum size is about 300 bees and typically they would fit easily into a birdbox. So harvesting anything form bumble bees is very difficult!
    In a honeybee colony, we beekeepers use a queen excluder so that the honey we will harvest is not contaminated by the queen laying eggs amongst the cells we want filled with delicious honey.
    Before I became a beekeeper I am not sure I had made the distinction between the two so I hope you don’t mind me making this comment?
    Apiarylandlord
    PS I have two wordpress blogs, one describing my humble, faltering steps in starting beekeeping and the other about a community volunteer project around keeping bees. It is a lovely hobby – and addictive.

Leave a Reply

